Expressing Request

A. Asking someone to do something:

· Can you give me the book?

· Could you phone me at 7 o’clock?

· Would you mind repairing my watch?

· Do you think you could take me to the shop

· I wonder if you could write me an application letter?

B. Asking someone for something:

· Can I borrow your pen?

· Could I have a seat?

· Can’t I sit beside you?

· May I use your computer?

The expression to accept it:

OK

Sure

All right

Certainly

It’s a pleasure

The expression to refuse it:

I’m afraid, I ….. (give your reason).

I’m sorry, I can’t.

I’d like to, but…(give your reason).

Find the mistake in each of these dialogues and correct it.

1. A: Is alright if I close the window?

B: Yes, go ahead.

2. A: Do you think could you turn your music down?

B: Yes, of course, sorry.

3. A: Would you helping me with my suitcase?

B: I’m sorry, but I’ve got a bad back.

4. A: Could I pass the salt please?

B: Yes, here you are.

5. A: Can I speak to you for a minute?

B: Yes, I’m afraid so.

6. A: Will you to get me my glasses please?

B: Sure.

7. A: Do you mind I go now?

B: No, that’s fine. We’ve nearly finished.

8. A: Would you mind taking this book to the library?

B: Yes, I would. I’m going there anyway.

9. A: Could you possible hold my umbrella for a minute?

B: Of course.

10. A: Would you mind look after Jane for an hour?

B: I’m afraid I can’t. I’m just going out.

Read the situations and make the requests.

1. You want to pay by credit card.

2. You want to borrow your friend’s camera.

3. You didn’t hear what your classmate’s said. You want her to say it again.

4. You’ve written a letter in English. You want your teacher to check it.

5. You can’t hear what your flat mate is saying because of the radio. You want him to turn it down.

6. You need Rp. 50.000. You want your colleague to lend it to you.

7. You haven’t finished your essay. You want to give it to your teacher a day late.

8. You need to use your colleague’s computer.

9. Your friends asks you to go to the cinema with her. You can’t tell her until tomorrow.

10. You want to your friend to turn the light on.

By Ely Wulandari Maulana Posted in Class XI

4 comments on “Expressing Request

  1. Ok oui et pas vraiment. Assurément parce que il se peut qu’on rencontre certaines sources qui probablement citent de semblables cote. Non car il ne suffit pas de copier ce qu’on peut lire avec plusieurs site web autres avant de le transposer tant clairement

Leave a comment