Expressing Confession

Study the following.
Via: Hey, where’s my cake? I haven’t eaten it.
Dewi: I don’t know.
Via: It must have been you who ate my cake.
Dewi: Right, are you accusing me?
Via: So, what’s the chocolate dot on your face over there?
Dewi: All right, I admit that I was very hungry. Will you forgive me?

Questions:
1. Who are in the dialogue above?
2. What are they doing?
3. What made Via angry?
4. What did she say?
5. What did Dewi say to deny it?
6. Did she really eat the cake?
7. What did she say to admit it?
3. Post activities
State whether the following statements are denial or confession expressions.
1. “Where is my pencil? Is that mine?”
“No, that’s not yours. It’s mine.”
2. “Oh my God! You broke my glasses.”
“I’m sorry, it was an accident.”
3. “You are sitting on my desk.”
“No, I’m not. This is mine. Yours is over there. ”
“Oh, I’m sorry then. ”
4. “Hey, what happened with my bag? ”
“Oh, it was my fault. I dropped the coffee on it. I’m very sorry. ”
5. “Someone told me that you are walking with another girl. ”
“No, that’s not true. I’ve never walked with another girl. It’s only you. ”

By Ely Wulandari Maulana Posted in Class XII

Leave a comment